Change font size
It is currently Thu Mar 23, 2017 3:06 pm

Forum rules


Image



Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 4 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: Missing your nanoprims?
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 6:14 pm 
OSG Elite
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 4:40 am
Posts: 328
Location: variable
If, like me, you have been tearing your hair out over the latest "undocumented feature", ie, the sudden trick OpenSim does when working with tiny prims.
Despair not, after considerable angst, and a good chat with dan banner, turns out the answer is actually quite simple.

OpenSim now has a new minimum NonPhysicalPrim size, although, it seems the config lines are NOT in the OSGrid release OpenSim.ini files. Nor are they in the OpenSimDefaults.ini file of the OSGrid release, yet.

To get back you nanoprim capbilities a simple edit to OpenSim.ini is all that is needed.


+++++ Add the lines below, to your OpenSim.ini file, immediately above the NonPhysicalPrimMax lines.
(no need to add the max sizes, they already exist)+++++


;# {NonPhysicalPrimMin} {} {Minimum size of nonphysical prims?} {} 0.01
;; Minimum size for non-physical prims. Affects resizing of existing prims. This can be overriden in the region config file (as NonphysicalPrimMin!).
NonphysicalPrimMin = 0.001

;# {NonPhysicalPrimMax} {} {Maximum size of nonphysical prims?} {} 256
;; Maximum size for non-physical prims. Affects resizing of existing prims. This can be overriden in the region config file (as NonphysicalPrimMax!).
NonphysicalPrimMax = 256

This section of the OpenSim.ini file is close to the start of the file, in the Startup section.

_________________
Greybeard.
I applied for the job as village idiot, seems they wanted someone smarter.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing your nanoprims?
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:24 pm 
OSG Elite

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 8:01 pm
Posts: 370
Thank you for this... :)

_________________
Walter Balazic
Littlefield Systems
http://www.lfgrid.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing your nanoprims?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:32 am 
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 8:20 pm
Posts: 448
Hey just an update, this setting, NonphysicalPrimMin as well as NonphysicalPrimMax are going to be changed in the future to
NonPhysicalPrimMin and NonPhysicalPrimMax as they are described.

Also, the default minimun size for non physical prims has been set to 0.001 so you will only need to use this change in the ini if you require a different minimum value than (0.001).


dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing your nanoprims?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 7:01 pm 
OSG Elite
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 4:40 am
Posts: 328
Location: variable
Update to these settings has now been commited to the head code by BlueWall Slade.
Not sure when it will come to a build near you, that is up to Nebadon, (wink wink nudge nudge).

_________________
Greybeard.
I applied for the job as village idiot, seems they wanted someone smarter.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 4 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
610nm Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net