Change font size
It is currently Wed Jul 24, 2019 3:42 am

Forum rules


{L_IMAGE}
. please keep questions related to an OpenSimulator and OSgrid nature.



Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 5 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: Another NAT Loopback Complaint
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:44 pm 

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 8:48 pm
Posts: 8
I've read all I could find about NAT loopback but am still looking for a solution:

I'm using a Bell Home Hub 1000 router. Ethernet attached I have a Windows 10 PC and a Ubuntu box. The Ubuntu box hosts my 3 sims.

I can get to my sims from a PC attached to a different router with no problems, but when I try to log on from my Win 10 PC, get stuck at "waiting for region handshake". Sounds like a loopback issue, doesn't it?

I found detailed instructions on how to install the MS Loopback adapter and successfully installed it and set my external IP address as required. Nothing changed.

Any advice? Also, is there a way i can use my internal IP address to get around this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another NAT Loopback Complaint
PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2019 5:05 am 
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 8:20 pm
Posts: 483
Hi, I believe the ms loopback adapter will only work when the simulator and viewer are on the same pc. Its possible someone knows a way to work around this limitation. Alternatively, short of buying a better router, you could use a vpn from the windows pc to connect to your sim.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another NAT Loopback Complaint
PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2019 7:23 am 
OSG Elite
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 7:07 am
Posts: 356
Location: B.C. Canada
I was thinking about dumping my crap dsl and getting a Telus smart hub, much the same as your Bell Home Hub, and that's the reason I haven't. Can't even bridge mode them.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another NAT Loopback Complaint
PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2019 8:14 pm 

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 8:48 pm
Posts: 8
Good call on the limitations of the loopback adapter. That makes sense.

Unfortunately I'm stuck with the router Bell Canada supplies me with. I'd love to get something better.

I activated PIA on my windows PC, but that didn't help.

Guess I'm stuck to using my phone's hot-spot feature and connecting to my sim from my laptop.

Thanks for the thoughts.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another NAT Loopback Complaint
PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2019 8:16 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 2:09 pm
Posts: 219
Location: Netherlands
Mind that the NAT loopback adapter indeed only works when the viewer is on the same machine as the simulator. Any other device in the local network can't "loopback" as it has to traverse the router, and that is just the device that doesn't support it in the 1st place.

Also it is REQUIRED to put the local IP in regions.ini to 0.0.0.0 (This uses the active network adapter, rather than the fixxed IP). If you forget to set this, the connection will fail.
the guide for win10 is found here : http://wiki.osgrid.org/index.php/Nat_Loopback

For the rest this setup requires the same port forwarding and firewall config as any other simulator. If you want me to take a look at your config, find me inworld.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 5 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
610nm Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net