Change font size
It is currently Thu Nov 21, 2019 7:53 pm

Forum rules


{L_IMAGE}
. please keep questions related to an OpenSimulator and OSgrid nature.



Post a new topicPost a reply Page 2 of 2   [ 15 posts ]
Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: How to remove ghost regions
PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 9:58 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 5:00 pm
Posts: 13
lol No not yet. I still have a looong way to go before I get to pat myself anywhere =)

_________________
PleasurePlanet.net
An Adults Only Virtual world grid.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to remove ghost regions
PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 2:45 pm 
OSG Elite
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 2:48 am
Posts: 394
skelito {L_WROTE}:
Well I believe Nebadon said he has removed the UUID's from the public region lists. He will have to confirm this. So, this may not be possible anymore if you lost the region's UUID.

Hopefully they are coming up with a way to clean these up....sure alot out there these days!

Revisiting this thread as the topic came up again. Forgot I bookmarked it for such occasions :oops:

But it always comes to mind that w/the UUID someone could easily hijack a space while the original server is down [maintenance, crash, upgrade etc]

just a thought,

PocoLoco

_________________
PocoLoco
Avatar@Large


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to remove ghost regions
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 9:50 pm 

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 2:47 pm
Posts: 2
I was trying to get a region on osgrid, and my console kept crashing. It says I was trying to put my region on another, yet it was empty space.

I tried another spot and it worked, perhaps its someone else's ghost?

I thought maybe my estate name was linking itself to a standalone region I accidently created. I parsed my database, reinstalled opensim and tryed a fresh spot and it worked!!

But now to figure out why I cannot use the other spot....I thought maybe an estate issue, which I need to remove in my console?

How do I remove extra estates on my console or database, so I can start fresh?

thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to remove ghost regions
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2019 2:33 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 2:09 pm
Posts: 226
Location: Netherlands
Its is not always obvious if a space is empty. Due to a glitch with VAR regions, some versions show a VAR only as 1 southwest corner region. If that happens to be a 8 x 8 VAR, you keep crashing due to a region overlap, whilst nothing obvious is even close.

If it is your own old / removed regions making you crash, you should be able to login to your account on the website, goto regions, and simply purge anything there. Should be an instant fix.

Estates should not be any issue with this. Removing these is not simple, as you have to muck around in the physical database itself. Just reinstalling is much easier.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to remove ghost regions
PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2019 9:45 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 10:34 am
Posts: 158
Location: France
well that map show more proper the coordinate open or busy by standard size and var region
https://www.osgrid.org/webmap2/
Please note that never finish that map and can be work very slow please do not abuse of that.
thanks you

_________________
Paela Argus,
Webmanagement and maintenance servers grid, Osgrid

https://www.osgrid.org


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 2 of 2   [ 15 posts ]
Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: legacy_google [bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
610nm Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net