Change font size
It is currently Sun Jun 16, 2019 6:05 pm

Forum rules


{L_IMAGE}
. please keep questions related to an OpenSimulator and OSgrid nature.



Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 5 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: Textures on prim not permament #Bug in OS
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 5:48 am 

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 12:16 am
Posts: 48
I do have an odd behaviour with some textures on a prim (Simulator 09000)
Viewers tested: Singularity, Firestorm.

Some mesh objects I brought over from SL to Opensim had the wrong textures on the prim due to the mesh import. No difference the textures was on a mesh or just a prim but all prims are linked to others and none of the prims or objects contains any scripts.

I had the object in OpenSim, corrected the wrong texture A to the right texture B (I do have the texture all in my inventory and also applied the UUID in a second step) and all stays on the prim as long the simulator is runing.

After I shut down the simulator and restart again the texture A (wrong one) shows up again on the prim.
Console does not pop up with errors.

Can I "bake" textures on a prim maybe via Console commands?

Is the prim broken? The texture? I tried tga and png textures.

Thanks for any hints.


Last edited by Fredy Kyong on Sun Sep 10, 2017 9:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Textures on prim not permament
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 9:52 am 

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 12:16 am
Posts: 48
Update on the issue.

I can confirm, this is OpenSim related with

A) Textures not baking to prim
or
B) Link problem of a prim

I took the mesh again (perfectly fine with textures) from SL to Opensim (All the prims/ textures I am the creator, so no rights conflicts here).

The mesh has 2 prims but each mesh contains multiple linksets and textures). I fix the wrong texture on mesh1 because it had some wired texture on it. I relog/shutdown/restart the simulator and the texture on the mesh is set to the strange texture again.

I log out, log in. Texture is again wrong.

No messages on the console regarding wrong textures or any other exceptions thrown.

Now I link a naked prim cube to the mesh (Mesh has 3 prims now). I fix the textures, log out, log in again. Texture is messed up again. I "unlink" the naked prim again and the texture switches back to the right one again.

I log out/ log in again. The texture is messed up again.

Now I did the reverse thing. I fixed the textures and exported the whole mesh back from OS to SL again. I upload the mesh in SL, all textures are fine (Same Viewer).

I log out from SL and log in again, the textures on the mesh are fine.

Conclusion:
Bug in Opensim (currently Diva Distro v09000)

Thanks for reading.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Textures on prim not permament #Bug in OS
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:04 am 

Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 4:38 am
Posts: 11
What I see is that faces 6 and 7 (counting from zero) on a mesh keep changing to the same texture, tint and texture repeats as face 5.

Here is a picture taken at the welcome center sandbox on the T.A.G. grid. These are two identical copies of the same eight face mesh panel with eight textures (chosen at random from my invetory there). The only difference between the two, is that the top one was there before I relogged, the lower one was added (by copy-dragging) after the relog.

This appears to be a client side issue but if it applies both to Singularity and Firestorm I think the only thing to do is warn everybody against uploading meshes with more than six faces until this is sorted out.


Attachments:
Snapshot_006.png
Snapshot_006.png [ 1.22 MiB | Viewed 1085 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Textures on prim not permament #Bug in OS
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 3:00 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 10:34 am
Posts: 153
Location: France
Please report the bug here http://opensimulator.org/mantis/main_page.php
:shock:

_________________
Paela Argus,
Webmanagement and maintenance servers grid, Osgrid

https://www.osgrid.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Textures on prim not permament #Bug in OS
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:30 am 

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 12:16 am
Posts: 48
I reported this to Mantis incl. Lynx´s information as well. We shall see some hints drop in to resolve the issue


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 5 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
610nm Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net