Change font size
It is currently Thu Jun 20, 2019 10:40 am

Forum rules


{L_IMAGE}
Keep the training material related in some way to OSGrid and OpenSIM or tools that you would use externally to opensim such as image editors and database tools etc... but ultimately the material presented benefits OpenSIM and OSGrid.



Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 5 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: Problems running Open sim on Amazon EC2
PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2016 7:37 pm 

Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 7:27 pm
Posts: 22
I am trying to set up an opensim grid on AWS. I tried it on my pc and it worked fine. I used the exact same settings except I changed the IP to AWS and when I run robust it starts up fine and when I run opensim.exe it also runs fine, no errors. But when I go into Firestorm and try to set it up as a new grid, I put in the ip address for the server and port 8002 and it can't find it. I'm sure it's a port issue, but I'm totally lost on how to set up the ports in AWS. Right now I am using the free one year plan.

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thank you.

Margie :-) 8-)


Last edited by margie baxley1 on Thu Sep 08, 2016 8:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems running Open sim on Amazon EC2
PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 4:39 am 
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 8:20 pm
Posts: 480
You might try reading through this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=15&t=4010

dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems running Open sim on Amazon EC2
PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2016 10:12 am 

Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 7:27 pm
Posts: 22
Thanks, I've read that but it's for ubuntu and it's old, so the settings look different now. I'm using the windows server on AWS.

Margie


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems running Open sim on Amazon EC2
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 11:34 am 
Furious Typer

Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 12:40 pm
Posts: 94
I am running on another (much cheaper) cloud service Digital Ocean and I strongly suspect you need to open the relevant ports on your firewall.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems running Open sim on Amazon EC2
PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2016 9:22 am 
Furious Typer
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 9:15 pm
Posts: 95
Location: Florida/USA
I ran into a similar problem with NAT Loopback.
It turned out the fault lay with my service provider (ATT).
The reason for the issues is a fairly recent security update with new routers.
All it took was for them to "throw a switch" to allow me to set up the loopback.
The trouble is that I had to jump through hoops just to get in touch with technical support.

If you continue to have loopback issues, I suggest you get in touch with technical support of your IP provider.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 5 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
610nm Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net