osgrid.org
https://forums.osgrid.org/

Prim Limits on regions
https://forums.osgrid.org/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=525
Page 1 of 2

Author:  legacy_fredm [ Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:51 am ]
Post subject:  Prim Limits on regions

Hello everyone. Just playing with the Opensim software.

A question I could not find an answer yet is...

Prim Limits for regions. It seems many
grid operators are offering 45.000 prims but some of my tests indicates that
is maybe an impossible number, especially when full meshing is used to support
physics.

How can I turn down the prim limits, maybe to 25.000 prims per region and try to go with that?

Cheers

Author:  Richard Senior [ Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:32 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Prim Limits on regions

Hi Fred,

When I put region packages together as a source of an easy place for people to get OSGrid access I was very very careful about how many prims I said they could handle. I have seen people advertising server and region packages and quoting 45,000 prims as a limit.

While I cant help you on how to make the viewer actually show a limit correctly or set it up in opensim (I cant find those settings myself), I can give you some advise on the limits. I did some testing when I put the PXE (http://www.sl-estates.co.uk) limits together. The limiting factor in any OpenSim installation is almost always the RAM avaliable and this will break down as follows........

Operating System
- Minimal Windows Operation - ~200Mb (this is very dependant on what you install in the OS)
- Minimal Linux OS : 13Mb

OpenSimulator
- Basic Setup (no regions) = ~68Mb
- Empty Region = ~10Mb

Prims
- 18 Prims/Mb

so consider that even on a basic linux installation (database held on a seperate server) we need 2591Mb to hold the full 45,000 prims and this has not yet considered the CPU costs of having a significant portion of those as 'physical' prims nor any resources used by Avatars on the region at the time.


I hope it helps

Author:  kane hart [ Tue Dec 02, 2008 3:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Prim Limits on regions

I think he wants to know how to change the prims count per sim so say max cap is 8k and then split the sim 8 parts so each plot is 1k prims just to force people not to over do it.

Author:  Ralf Haifisch [ Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Prim Limits on regions

sounds easy...

go into /regions/default.xml

change the prim limit (ObjectCapacity =) in opensim.ini

then make land parcels on the specified regions.

as in SL, you could although play with the object bonus (prim multiplier) in estate_settings.xml.


cheers,
Ralf

Author:  Richard Senior [ Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:48 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Prim Limits on regions

thanks Ralf, thats a new setting on me so I will have to check it out :D

Author:  Max Ping [ Thu Dec 04, 2008 11:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Prim Limits on regions

Presumably if you set the object capacity in the ini file that affects all regions - what if you want to have a mixture of prim limits. Eg. My main region has 7500, secondary has 3750, light use regions have 1875 and so on...

How would you achieve this?

Author:  Ralf Haifisch [ Fri Dec 05, 2008 1:56 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Prim Limits on regions

i see no other chance as

- having differnent instances of opensim.exe , so different ini
- playing with the region object bonus on the region


cheers
Ralf

Author:  legacy_fredm [ Fri Dec 05, 2008 5:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Prim Limits on regions

Thank you all!

This is great information, and I will try to play abit with the xml files. I have 500GB of hard disk and 4 GB Memory on a dual core x64 machine. But I really not want people crash the whole grid while overdoing the limits.

Well...if I could get my grid server up, but that´s another prob :oops:

Author:  Max Ping [ Sat Dec 06, 2008 2:44 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Prim Limits on regions

Thanks Ralf, I'll play around with that idea

Author:  juancarlospaco cooljoke [ Sun Dec 07, 2008 7:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Prim Limits on regions

LOL, Get Ubuntu People, is more easy than Vista, and uses a little of RAM avaliable.

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/