osgrid.org
https://forums.osgrid.org/

Regions taken by someone else
https://forums.osgrid.org/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6109
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Kevin Nadezda [ Sun Feb 25, 2018 10:36 am ]
Post subject:  Regions taken by someone else

I have four regions on OSgrid, all hosted on a single PC. I am not able to keep the PC running 24/7. After having been offline for approximately 24 hours, all of my regions were taken by someone else.

How long can a region be offline before the spot is made available to someone else?

Author:  Jeeper Shim [ Sun Feb 25, 2018 2:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Regions taken by someone else

Did you use the quit command to shut them down? That removes them from the grid. If you just close the window, they will stay registered on the grid. They won't be accessible of course, but you won't loose your spot.

Author:  Kevin Nadezda [ Sun Feb 25, 2018 2:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Regions taken by someone else

Jeeper Shim {L_WROTE}:
Did you use the quit command to shut them down? That removes them from the grid. If you just close the window, they will stay registered on the grid. They won't be accessible of course, but you won't loose your spot.


First, thanks for the response. So, in the Opensim console, don't use the 'quit' command. Does that apply to the 'shutdown' command as well? Also, if I just close the console window without utilizing either command, that won't cause any problems with the databases or other settings?

Author:  dan banner [ Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Regions taken by someone else

I'd use 'backup' in console before crashing the sims
that way everything is saved to the db first

dan

Author:  Jeeper Shim [ Sun Feb 25, 2018 6:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Regions taken by someone else

Good point Dan. I use backup before closing the application all the time.

I've never used the shutdown command but I'd day yes, it's probably the same as quit.

Author:  Kevin Nadezda [ Mon Feb 26, 2018 7:29 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Regions taken by someone else

Thanks for the advice. It's appreciated.

Author:  paela argus [ Sat Mar 03, 2018 7:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Regions taken by someone else

Using cross or kill the simulator are not proper do you kill your computer with the power of your tower i do not think opensimulator is same ... a proper shutdown or quit are needed opensim are a software !

Again all peoples complain about tp fail, kill region or pid ( linux ) is exactly the problem all users have during tp !!!

If you not wanna lost your place please rent a real server in a datacenter or run your computer h24 7/7

Author:  Xariah Hope [ Mon May 14, 2018 3:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Regions taken by someone else

I'm glad you posted this....I have tried 3 times now to setup my first region, and all fail, usually ending with "region not found" or a timeout error message. How do we close the console window/OS program when we are done then? (I am going to use my region only for myself or when others are invited when I am online for the time being...). I am fine with leaving the console window up and using backup command, but things happen and would hate to lose progress in the future!

TY for the help & sorry for leeching off this post lol.

Author:  Jozee Tungsten [ Tue May 15, 2018 1:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Regions taken by someone else

IMHO we need a better solution to people keeping their spot on the grid than crashing their sim. As Pae said, dead sims persist on the grid map and cause a patchwork of bad TP destinations which is a real deterrent to exploration using the map. I run 24/7 now, but whenever I have run on a home pc and shut down on a daily basis, I always just picked a really isolated spot for my sim. If you are living in the middle of nowhere virtual miles from anybody there is much less chance of losing your spot.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/