Change font size
It is currently Sun Jul 12, 2020 9:42 pm

Forum rules


General Discussion of viewers, this section is not intended for technical support of viewer bugs, but more a general area for Viewer discussion and announcements for all users and third party viewer teams.



Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 5 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: Mesh Enabled Viewers?
PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2013 3:13 pm 

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 5:24 pm
Posts: 45
Are there any third party mesh enabled viewers out there other than Firestorm or Kokua?

I'd love to be able to use mesh on my stand-alone, but those two viewers do not enable me to connect to the machine that is running my simulators.

I've been running simulators both on OSgrid and as stand-alone for years and I know that my router handles both situation properly.
The mentioned viewers simply do not allow one to specify a machine on a LAN by IP addresss, which seems kind of stupid.

Pak


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesh Enabled Viewers?
PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2013 10:39 pm 
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 8:20 pm
Posts: 495
I tried adding my standalone uri to firestorm and it worked fine.

In firestorm, go to preferences ->opensim ->grid manager then type the ip:port or hostname:port in the "add new grid" box and click apply

What happens is firestorm connects and retrieves the grid info so if your grid is not configured correctly or is offline this will never succeed.

dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesh Enabled Viewers?
PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2013 8:13 am 

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 5:24 pm
Posts: 45
Dan,

Thank you for the reply. That is the method I have used to log in to my stand alone with the older viewers - I would enter the Loacal Area IP address and port of the machine running the simulator. I have tried setting up a domain name, but have found no clear instructions that answer all my questions.

May I ask, what do you mean by "..if your grid is not configured correctly"?
Do the newer viewers require one to set up a "grid" (such as osgrid, for example) in order to connect? That may be my problem - if that's true.

I am able to access my stand alone fine with older viewers by using the IP:port, but if the viewer requires a 'grid' per se, than I can understand why I'm having a problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesh Enabled Viewers?
PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2013 9:31 am 
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 8:20 pm
Posts: 495
No it doesnt require a grid, it worked fine on my standalone. What happens is you add the IP:Port and click "apply" and it retrieves (get_grid_info) the grid name and loginuri and then when you click "OK" to exit preferences it saves the entry under the name (gridname) you have configured in your [GridInfoService] section of either GridCommon.ini or StandaloneCommon.ini

{L_CODE}:
[GridInfoService]
    ; These settings are used to return information on a get_grid_info call.
    ; Client launcher scripts and third-party clients make use of this to
    ; autoconfigure the client and to provide a nice user experience. If you
    ; want to facilitate that, you should configure the settings here according
    ; to your grid or standalone setup.
    ;
    ; See http://opensimulator.org/wiki/GridInfo

    ; login uri: for grid this is the login server URI
    login = http://1.2.3.4:9000/

    ; long grid name: the long name of your grid
    gridname = "Unique name here"

    ; short grid name: the short name of your grid
    gridnick = "Unique"

    ; login page: optional: if it exists it will be used to tell the client to use
    ;                       this as splash page
    ; currently unused
    ;welcome = http://1.2.3.4/welcome

    ; helper uri: optional: if it exists if will be used to tell the client to use
    ;                       this for all economy related things
    ; currently unused
    economy = http://1.2.3.4:9000/
~~snip



Obviously 1.2.3.4 would need to be the correct IP or hostname

dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesh Enabled Viewers?
PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2013 1:19 pm 

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 5:24 pm
Posts: 45
AH!

That did it!

Thank you very much and sorry for being a numbskull~

Pak


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 5 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
610nm Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net